a happy post.

1 Oct

i have always been one for feedback, because i think it helps us all become better versions of ourselves. versions 2.0, if you will.

so if you told me that my mink hat, half lit cigar and glass of chilled chardonnay made me look like a very fancy, yet clearly washed up, 1920s hooker, i would take your criticism and work incredibly hard to make improvements. (you know, by removing the hat and cigar, at least.)

and if you implied – ever so carefully of course – that my posts had perhaps become a pinch morose over the last little while – i would also accept this and type vigorously to incorporate your thoughts.

yup, i really am this obliging. it’s fun – right?  jazz hands everybody!

so, in the spirit of being happy, i should tell you that i have a big announcement.

but before i proceed, no, i am not with child. and nope, i have most definitely not found a real-life job yet, and no, for godsakes, i am not leaving the husband for a love affair with my awesome new camera, the tv or a bottle of wine…while those are all highly tempting items.

but i am coming home in december – for good. (um, at this point you are encouraged to jump around at your leisure while chanting: “al, al, al!“)

this decision was signed, sealed and delivered a few weeks ago and it’s just killed me not to reveal it until now.

frankly, my mum-ness on the issue has occurred because i’ve been trying to figure out how exactly to explain my reasons for leaving a few months early – without looking like i quit or gave up. although i am many strange and wonderful things, i do not throw my hands up and walk away when things get shitt-ay.

but after eating several packets of india’s fantastic version of the oreo (l’oreo, if you’d prefer to be fancy), consuming many pitchers of sangria and singing along to marvin gaye like a ferrel cat – i simply can’t figure out how to explain my reasons.

i guess they’re just too complicated for this ‘ol teenaged telephone convo of a blog.  and you know what – hey – that’s life.

bah, anyway, what’s truly important here is that i am coming and staying home in just 2 short months. home, where things are sometimes challenging, but where i can find the babies who call me auntie al, the good vino, the diabolical tap-dancing dog, my apartment pants and a good percentage of of you, kind readers. of course.

so you see – this really is a happy post. now come on everyone, let’s go twirl around our bedrooms with our arms open really wide screaming: “weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!”

the happiest looking picture for a happy post

11 Responses to “a happy post.”

  1. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) October 1, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    We all just got a really nice early Christmas present from our Al. I will be stocking up on nice wine for apres-ski at the WOOD!

    • al October 1, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

      wine…and those mini cinnamon rolls – right? RIGHT?

      xoxoxox

      • A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) October 2, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

        ya baby!!

  2. Sarah October 1, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    Whoo hoooo! :) This hemisphere was just not the same without you!

  3. Brenna October 1, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    I absolutely cannot wait! Take time to enjoy the last few months in India and then get ready for some serious nights of wine, catching up, and potentially cowboys.

    • Laura Pus October 5, 2011 at 6:52 am #

      What do you mean POTENTIALLY???? If we don’t find any in Toronto we will road trip it to London…There is a bar there called Cowboys it has a mechanical bull and everything.

  4. ica October 2, 2011 at 5:03 am #

    As I already knew this news.. I actually just had a breakdown moment of feeling like its actually happening while reading the post. So many tears, I can’t control them.. They are just coming out of my eyes so fast and furious ..

    I get you BACK!! Finally

    Babies, apartment pants, top hat dog, fab wine , and so much more BRING IT ON !!

    I love you !

    Ps. Auntie ange I totally agree on the cinnamon bun front by the by :)

  5. auntie angie's sister October 4, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    I know you are really happy about this, and I know for sure your family/friends are jumping around cheering. I am happy for you as well although I do want to know what I am going to do with out your blog? Will you still blog?????? I love your writing and look forward to it and everytime I see that you have written, I jump up and down and go weeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! As we don’t see each other very often (or basically not at all) I do hope you continue to blog as I have loved getting to know you more and I love seeing how you embrace life and all that it has to offer.
    So I will look forward to your blogs in the new year from your homeland! xoxoxo

  6. Hannah October 5, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    While you know how much my heart broke when you first told me the news (let’s be serious, you still won’t be with me in FLORIDA) I’m so glad that you’re going to be happy. Love

  7. Care October 5, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    this makes me very happy. i need an alli hug. XO

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a beginning, a middle and an end. « hey it's me, al. - November 25, 2011

    […] got over the fact that india – yes, all 1.2 billion of it – was a jerk, things were over. for the many oh-so-complicated reasons, i left my work early for the homeland where the nachos are free range and the sewers are […]

Leave a Reply

