deer gone wild.

21 Jun

i just got back from 12 hours of traipsing around rural west bengal. it was my first foray into exploring our branches outside of the metro area – which meant a whole new look and feel to poverty.

i’m literally exhausted. i have a layer of dirt so thick on my face that i look like i’ve just stepped off a 7-day 6-night royal caribbean cruise and i have a headache that could cut nails. but, i just had to summon up my last tidbits of strength to post the below pictures for you.  (i’m so selfless)

because my brain honestly can’t convey all the things i saw today, i will sum it up like this:

my old boss (from the halifax days) had a deer – a f*&king deer – break through a plate-glass window at one of his stores yesterday morning.  apparently it scared the bejesus out of everyone – a natural reaction i suppose.

i emailed him to say sorry about the deer and all, and this was his 2-word response:

“crazy shit…”

i feel confident that his response also doubles as my reaction to today’s events.  if i ever get enough strength to relive them – i might tell you the stories someday.  but for now, a few choice shots – picture, not drink  – will have to do.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 Responses to “deer gone wild.”

  1. haniemarie June 21, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Sometimes I feel like somebody’s watchin’ me.

    • heyitsmeal June 22, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      your comment makes no sense. its almost as if YOU make no sense………………………maybe?

  2. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) June 22, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    The deer pictures were very cute.

    • heyitsmeal June 22, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      hah, if by deer you mean kids, then yes, they are very cute.

      and if by deer, you mean deer, well then sorry you were disappointed.

      :)

  3. Li June 22, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I had a call today at work with Acumen Fund since we will be focusing on our partnership with them in our next marketing push… Al, its been such an inspiring day and I have been thinking about you all along. I always knew what you are doing there, but now i really “get it! … and i would just like to say that you are truly amazing my friend! baci!!

    • heyitsmeal June 22, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      acumen is my hero a little – theyre amazing. theyre more a venture fund model, but theyre so good at the development marketing stuff too. theyre an industry leader for sure – so glad you are connecting with them. its great to see that they are getting amazing partnerships. did you ask them if theyll give me a job after im done in kolkata???? hahaha. i adore you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my imperfect perfect sidekick. « hey it's me, al. - June 29, 2011

    […] is it possible to be in a fight with a whole country, you ask? well if you read this, this and this – you may be able to read between the lines, and […]

  2. the best days of my (indian) life. « hey it's me, al. - July 19, 2011

    […] previously shown here the indian kidlets are pretty cute. but capturing these kids on camera is not always easy. i […]

Leave a Reply

