do you want some of this?

16 May

so i’m kind of weird about food.

not only am i the only person i know who is deathly allergic to fish, but i don’t really eat much (or any) meat. the reason? it’s totally gross when meat looks like the animal it used to be.  i.e chicken legs. chicken wings.

shut up, it’s logical.

anyway, these food ‘quirks’ are exacerbated here in india. fish is used for a ton of dishes and as for the meat, well, let’s just say that one minute the chicken is in front of your meandering around and then the next it’s in a bag for your convenient transportation home.  squawk.

so i think it goes without saying that i’ve gone almost completely veg here.

but despite the few things i can’t waiver on – like witnessing bird murder – i have to give myself props:   i have been unquestionably brave since i got here.

i haven’t hesitated to try anything – even chicken that basically looks like it hit the chopping block about 10 seconds ago. (mind you, i won’t be trying it again, but that’s not the point now is it…)

lunch is the time that i get to experience the most new food. i eat with my colleagues and they are never shy about offering me a nibble. actually, if i’m being honest here, they usually put it on my plate without asking.

and this propensity for sharing was a wonderful surprise because while i worked at engineers without borders last year, i came to love having different forks in my lunch. of course  it freaked me out at first (hello, strangers eating your food?) but i soon learned to look forward to it.

in the last few weeks i’ve tried the most amazing dishes courtesy of my colleagues. saucy-rice-spice-veg, mango chutney, fried chip-like roti, cold spicy pasta, fried soya beans and pod vegetables in delicious yellow sauce. and no, i cannot pronounce or write the names of these dishes. i’m still working on ‘how are you’, give me a break.

i'm having a love affair with lentils and spice.

anyway, this is all to say that despite my initial (quite serious) doubts, indian food and i are getting along.

and the best part is that while i miss my old colleagues from ewb – i am carrying a little part of them with me in the form of a big/messy/loud communal lunch.

so what are you waiting for? go stick a fork in it.

7 Responses to “do you want some of this?”

  1. Hannah May 16, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Thank you for teasing me with these culinary delights. I shall be ordering Paneer Mahkani for lunch today. And I will think about you.

    And Guac.

    Because I am still convinced that the only thing you know how to make is guac. Without me, you wouldn’t have survived in the developing provence of Rouen.

  2. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 16, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    hey al – I read your post as I ate lunch: yummy arugula and spinach salad with spicy shrimp leftover from dinner party last night. Then I spent a considerable amount of time looking around the house for my soapbox so that I could get on it and start my dissertation about food, nutrition, healthy and not so healthy choices, about people who chosse to eliminate certain foods from their diet – for whatever reason. Then I decided against it and opted to stuff 2 chocolate chip cookies in my mouth that the pregger made here this morning instead of having her baby….not going to say anymore.

  3. Barnet May 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I guuess we are all part of the food chain…..

  4. Barnet May 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Remember, it is very important to check what is in the food you eat…..

    • Alecia May 20, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

      im jealous, my mouth is watering! btw is that plate from ikea??? do they have ikea in india???

  5. Kyle May 25, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    awesome stuff A-town.

    I especially liked “i came to love having different forks in my lunch.”

    Not sure if you’ve heard the news yet, but EWB is moving to a bigger and better space… overlooking the Ravi patio. ohhhhh goodness.

    Looks like you’re getting some great grub. Been eating with your hands much?

    Hope all is well,

    • Al May 27, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      i have decided your lying about the ravi patio move. just like you lied to me that one time they “closed down”.

      but if youre not lying, by some mysterious reason, i can only say that its a good thing i dont work there anymore because all my disposable income would go to soup.

Leave a Reply

