forever in blue jeans.

11 May

you know who I love? neil diamond. that’s right, neil flipping diamond.   let that settle in for a minute.

guitar hero!

there is something just so deliciously indulgent about neil.  he’s a little bit country, a little bit rock n’ roll and the man wrote – albeit accidentally – some of the best drinking music ever.

if that doesn’t satisfy you as to neil’s deserved status, let me tell you that mr. diamond had one of the most  expensive divorces in history. it came in at something like US $ 150 million – or in other words – a buttload of cash.

i guess the man just really didn’t want to be married anymore. which sets the stage for my, somewhat ironic, point.

i am eternally devoted to mr. diamond because his song ‘forever in blue jeans’ has greatly inspired my approach to being  in a relationship. he says:

money talks, but it don’t sing and dance and it don’t walk.

as long as i can have you here with me, i’d much rather be, forever in blue jeans.

husband and i have spent many a car-ride singing this wonderful tune to each other.  awkwardly off key with finger-pointing dance moves out in full force, we grin like complete idiots.

but while it’s fun to sing neil’s wise words to each other, it’s proving harder to live by them.

working here in india is a dream, no doubt. but in achieving said dream we have made the decision to become a one-income household, with a needy dog and a 120 year old house to support.  we have a lot on our plate, and there have already been times when we’ve both thrown our hands up in the air and said ‘this sucks!’.

but, when these days come and we’re feeling blue,  we are learning how to pull ourselves out of the funk with the power of positive thinking.  cause neil is right – money’s useful, but we’re lucky to be spending forever (in blue jeans) with each other.

i ticked  an item off my bucket list in 2008 when my charming husband made the tactically stunning move of buying me 2 tickets to a neil diamond concert  for my birthday.

what’s more impressive is that he even attended with me – and sang along to every word.

@ neil diamond in ottawa. just me, husband and his goatee.

10 Responses to “forever in blue jeans.”

  1. Brenna May 11, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    You guys are my favorite! Awkward singing and finger dancing really sealed the deal.

    • Al May 11, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      pretty sure you invented finger dancing. i can’t prove it, but i’m pretty sure nonethless.

  2. Hannah May 11, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Dear Ben.
    I have a dog. I want a house. I love to travel. I’m so much like Al you cannot believe it. Will you buy me Neil Diamond concert tickets and then join me at said awesome concert?
    Love 1/3 of Goodtimes

  3. barnet May 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Here is a little different take on Mr. Diamonds fave…

    Now there’s a voice with a few miles on it!

    • Al May 11, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      lol he’s basically just talking. but there’s still something so charming about it.

  4. Jess Hynes May 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Just had the pleasure of Benjamin’s company in London, my dear dear cuz, whose looking very very well, if a little skinny, I think he must be pining. Can I just say what a fine young man he is. A great listener, a thoughtful speaker and absolutely totally and completely dedicated to his lovely wife, (thats you). I think that marriage never really gets more complicated than ‘forever in blue jeans’. True love is very hardy, it can take anything you throw at it – and when you can’t get the jeans done up any more, you can just sing ‘forever in sweat pants..’

    • Al May 11, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

      oh my lord jess this made me laugh. god i wish i could spend forever in sweat pants, regardless of love and marriage love and marriage. and yes, he is pretty fantastic. frankly somedays i can’t believe i get to be married to him.

  5. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 11, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    And my favourite all-time song of his??? sweet caroline.

    • Al May 11, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

      i thought you’d like this post. i thought inserting a picture of care and calling it sweet caroline may have been a bit over the top. trust me, i was tempted.

  6. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 12, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    lead us into temptation……..

Leave a Reply

