pardon the interruption.

10 May

today i woke up feeling a little digestively challenged. all i will say is that i made some unfortunate vegetable choices last night and now i am off sick from work. of course, feel free to insert your own creative imagery here.

so as i sit quietly in my air conditioned mecca, i thought now would be the right opportunity to interrupt our regularly scheduled programming with some goodtimes.  team goodtimes, to be exact.

i’ve mentioned lidia and hannah a few times now since starting this confounded blog, and since i promised to share my stories of friendship and friendship fail-dom, i thought team goodtimes was the perfect place to start.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

i met lidia and hannah in 2006 when i shipped myself off to (the developing country known as) france for my last six months of university. hannah was  loud, obnoxious, incredibly american and lived across the hall from me in our dorm.  lidia, on the other hand, was quiet(er) but had a wonderfuly quirky sense of humor.

i immediately adored lidia – but as for  hannah – not so much.

listen, i’m the first to admit that i can be a judgemental bitch. but hannah was really outgoing you guys, and that freaked me out. as enthusiastic as hannah was (is), i was (am) equally as stubborn when i decide something is not for me.

yet despite weeks of suffering through my prickly demeanour, hannah broke me down with her obvious sense of loyalty, compassion and kindness. sure, she was over-the-top about everything, but that meant the girl knew how to have fun. and i liked it.

so with our mutual love for lidia in tow, team goodtimes was born.

i asked hannah last night how the name team goodtimes came about because i guess the french wine had eroded my memory. this is what she said: “al you gave us the name. you said we should be called team goodtimes because…we always have goodtimes.”

and while obvious, i guess it gets the point across.  we’re fun girls.

sometimes it's exhausting being so fun.

friendship is tricky and sometimes (many times) i don’t always get it right.  but, what’s beautiful about this is that my many failures have brought me to the point where i know a good thing when i see it. and folks – team goodtimes is just that.

over 5 years has gone by since our first days together – and while we are all on different continents – my dear team goodtimes girls still find time each day in their busy schedules to warm my heart.

i guess that’s just part of our deal. and i love them for it.

14 Responses to “pardon the interruption.”

  1. barnet May 10, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    These wonderful blog entries bring to mind music I haven’t thought about for years.

    Look after your widdle tummy.

    • Al May 10, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      i lovvvvved this song! i have never heard it before! thanks for sharing – love the vids. i was going to email you and let you know that i discoverd your emmylou harris on my ipod too. she is kind of amazing, and this afternoon (in my sad state) i just sat there listenign to a whole album. we must continue my musical education when i get back, super into it all.

      • barnet May 11, 2011 at 4:33 am #

        You can play this one when you get home.

  2. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    You’re pardoned. Lovely to hear the background on wonderful friends. I am (not) sure they are okay with having our own Anais Nin ratting them out. I think loyal blog readers should feel free to rename Al’s captions (since she won’t give us permission to post our OWN pictures)…here’s a first go at it, something from literature of course: “So long as the memory of certain friends lives in my heart, I shall say that life is good”. Of course, it could be funnier, as in: WARNING – don’t fall asleep drunk!

    • Al May 10, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      im glad you liked it! they’re ok with it, nothing we don’t joke about now. very touching quote, adore. adore. and…the picture is particularly hilarious because we were not drunk. just snuggle bears. xox

  3. Hannah May 11, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    You loved me from the start. You just expressed it through cold stare-downs and the slamming of doors.

    <3 – Le Banane of Goodtimes

    • Elizabeth May 13, 2011 at 7:30 am #

      This story sounds familiar! I too fully intended on hating Hannah through a semester abroad (we had a culinary tiff pre-departure). She knows how to weasel her way into hearts, that’s for sure.

      • Al May 13, 2011 at 8:36 am #

        i always knew i liked you elizabeth…so funny is our hannah.

  4. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 11, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Hey Hannah – that’s what she does to me too! ;-)))

    • Al May 11, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

      stares, maybe. but only because you kept trying to get me to wear a longer train. and door slamming? well i can’t take responsibility for anything i did before the age of…15. yes…15 sounds sufficiently safe…

  5. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 12, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    so for those that are still reading this thread let me just say that the story goes something like this:

    Al: “NO, i don’t want a train Auntie Ange”,
    ME: ok, try on the lining so I can cut off the train …
    Al: “OH, well i kinda like the train…”
    ME: make up your mind my lovely
    Al: “hmmm..maybe a small train…??”
    ME: ok, i will cut it here then…
    Al: “um, maybe a bit longer…??”
    ME: ok, cut it here….?
    Al: “gee…maybe a bit longer”
    ME: here…?
    Al: “ya, there – that makes a nice train”..
    ME: how about a crinoline underneath?
    AL: “NO, I don’t want a crinoline Auntie Ange”
    ME: just read the above and change train to crinoline….

    footnote: for more on the wedding dress please purchase my book entitled “how to have the most fun with your niece”

    • Al May 12, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      really, i think you love me because i let you influence every decision i had. even if it was one snip at a time. you have to easssse a girl into this things you know. and that book would be awesome, by the way. i’d read it.

      you’re just the best. everytime i look at/think about my dress i think of you. what a trip it all was.

  6. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 12, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I have the pic of you in the dress on my kitchen counter – love it – so beautiful you are.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the night we choose to remember. « hey it's me, al. - June 2, 2011

    […] inappropriate outfit ever. if possible, i find the memory of this outfit more embarrassing than bra head al, so i share it reluctantly: hello poofy gold skirt and backless tube top at a formal event. […]

Leave a Reply

