sometimes ya just gotta.

3 May

from the moment i opened my peepers yesterday morning i was feeling really…pissy.

i wish that i had some brilliant reason why i was in such a cantankerous state, but i dont.  my maid coming for the first time didn’t cheer me up. birthday cake at the office, coupled with a very kicky tradition of hand-feeding the birthday boy/girl and then smearing cake on their face wedding-style, couldn’t spur a long-lasting smile. even ‘friends’ didn’t fully do the trick. gasp.

so you see nothing was working.

after some pensive staring-off-into-the-distance, i decided that maybe my lack of independence was getting to me. as you know, i have been coddled like a newborn since i got here – and while god that’s fun and all – there comes a time where ya gotta learn to walk on your own.

with this in mind, yesterday i made the ballsy decision to head back to spencer’s grocery store – where i previously earned my title as a bone-fide market pirate with mr. s but this time i decided to go at the journey alone: insert indiana jones theme song here.

spencer’s is about a 20 minute journey during rush hour across town, and i’m very pleased to report that i navigated my way home through the intricate network of streets, the millions of people and the disorienting honking to arrive alive with 6 bags of delicious groceries. and…i did it all in the dark.

later in the evening as i was making dinner, the pride of my accomplishment settled  in.  then,  i started to feel an urge that i know for a fact is directly connected to pure joy.

i just gotta dance. that’s right: dance!

music is paramount in our house in canada and since i’ve been here i haven’t really had the chance to listen to much –  other than as i fall asleep. so between meals of just carbs, little or no exercise and my new independence – i was feeling ready to expel some celebratory energy.

and dance i did – and i don’t care who knows it ya hear!? busted it out, alone, in my apartment listening to my ipod like i was the runner-up (at least) on a dance competition exclusively for awesome people.

so the point of all this ridiculousness,  (you mean other than more embarrassment for moi?) is to tell you that part of this year is about just getting to know myself better. what i need. what i don’t. and how best to fix my own problems.

and yesterday, all i really needed to remedy my bad mood was a glimmer of independence, followed by a good old-fashioned pants off dance off.

12 Responses to “sometimes ya just gotta.”

  1. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) May 3, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    hey sweet feet…dance like no one’s watching. oh wait…was JC in the audience?

    • Diedra May 3, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      That’s right,give JC some entertainment.

  2. Susan May 3, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    You’re my hero.

  3. Barnet May 3, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    You are truly awe inspiring!

  4. Jan Michelin May 4, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    You go girl!!! If you get an opportunity to take a pic of the children there, I would love to share it with my class.

    • Al May 4, 2011 at 9:13 am #

      im on it! my caretaker has a really cute baby (um not sure if its a boy or girl still hahaha…so awkward) but i have been meaning to get a pic for a while. when i head to more of our branches i will get more kid pics as well – theyre definitely cute!!!!

  5. Hannah May 4, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Now that we are talking again, you can dance because you’re happy. (Three days without me and your heart broke.)

    Please now do the following:
    Put on Stop! by the Spice girls.
    Next drink every time they say “bottles to the ground” in that NOFX song.
    Put a bra on your head and sing “Take me home tonight” as loud as you can, creating the biggest spectacle as possible.
    Then finish it out with an Al retention of Cher’s if I can turn back time.

    (Then, when that’s all over. Remember that I love you.)

    • Al May 4, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      yeah…more like now that youre talking to ME again.

      i agree with most of this, and will likely follow it. i forgot about bottles to the ground…so funny.

  6. ica May 4, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    Funny!!! Yesterday at work I was doing the same thing. Turned on the radio an just danced while I was working ! I thought of you sister!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. what we do to get by. « hey it's me, al. - July 13, 2011

    […] me, coping sometimes means drinking a bottle (or 46) of chilled chardy and then dancing around my apartment to 60s rock and roll.  sometimes it is allowing myself to feel brave, even if it’s just for […]

  2. girls just wanna have fun. « hey it's me, al. - July 27, 2011

    […] that sitting around drinking wine and listening to dirty southern rock is not fun, because lord knows it’s among my top 3 fav activities (behind making fun of strangers […]

  3. dancing by myself. « hey it's me, al. - January 24, 2012

    […] when i told you that a huge part of my coping mechanism in india was a lot of drunk dancing in my jc-the-lizard infested apartment? yeah? me […]

Leave a Reply

