bribery is my friend.

30 Apr

today is a big day.  the biggest ever, perhaps.

today, i cunningly took from the pages of the “brenna donoghue guide to relationship building and being awesome”, and bribed the bleeping bleep out of my coworkers with cookies to get them to like me.

just in case you aren’t up to date on the developing story of awkwardness at my office (how dare you, by the way), the quick run down is that it’s been a challenge to build good connections with my colleagues here. i’ve been calling it my hideous regression back into high school.  and if we know anything kids, we know that i hated high school.

so here is the bribing bounty, purchased last night at a delicious sweet shop near mr. s’s house.

they tasted like shortbread. don't ask me what they're called though.

and now, loyal followers, i can confidently say that bribery works!

making my way around our 4-story office building with the sweets i managed to get a smile out of almost everyone. i even had a few quick conversations with some colleagues who i hadn’t met yet. ok, so they mainly asked me about generic topics like the weather (“it’s hot here, no?”) and the food (“how are you finding the spice?”), but it still counts. it does!

as i distributed the confections almost everyone asked “what are these for?”, to which i said: “because it’s saturday!  we should at least get sweets if we have to work on saturday.”

they laughed – maybe out of pity, i’m unclear – but either way i think i’m one step closer to becoming one of them.

ok brenna, now i ask with the greatest of anticipation: what comes after the cookie bribery?

7 Responses to “bribery is my friend.”

  1. Sarah April 30, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Brownie bribery… And it rhymes… :)

  2. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) April 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Now you know why rice krispies worked so well. Why don’t you make some – no oven required and they are Canadian!!??! Don’t tell me then don’t have the stuff to make them. Get the stuff. Make them. Immitate if you have to. Declare alternate Saturday’s as Canadian food day – everyone will be at your desk just waiting to see you (marketing 101 in case anyone is wondering).

    • Al April 30, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      youre very cunning,dear auntie ange. i like this idea – if only i had an oven. what can you make that is no-bake. time to send me an email with your fav recipes. i love the idea of canadian food days – cause working saturday sucks!

      • Hannah May 4, 2011 at 8:56 am #

        Rice Krispies are Canadian? This is news to me. News I do not believe. Also. As your auntie said, it is a NO BAKE RECIPE. All you need is your cute little hot plate. Do you listen to anyone?

        If you actually pretend to be my friend I can send you some of the good stuff. What we made to win over half of TZ.

        Or jello. For wine jello shots.

      • Al May 4, 2011 at 9:11 am #

        sometimes you can be a real ass.

      • Al May 4, 2011 at 9:14 am #

        oh, and ps. i love you.

  3. Brenna April 30, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    I am proud to say that this is the great lesson in relationship building and leadership that I was able to pass along!
    What next… well that’s where I rely on my magnetic personality… of course that failing, 5 bottles of wine sounds about right, no?! Somehow I’m guessing your shinning personality will mean you don’t need to rely on the 5 bottles!
    Love it!

Leave a Reply

