they let me in!

11 Apr

after what seems like an eternity of back and forth with the indian government on my suitability as a temporary resident in their country, i am pleased to report that they have let me in!

i thought that nothing could have been more scary than having to advocate my visa case at the consulate general of india in toronto to the big man, in the big suit, with the big carpet in his office.  (don’t all people of crazy importance have carpets in their offices?)

but i was wrong. 

standing in line today waiting to get my visa accepted, i was shaking.  i was just thinking that all the time, money, effort and tears (cough, jess) that have gone into this trip would have been for not. naught? nought?  no idea.

anyway, good news loyal followers, i am here safe at my guest house under the watchful eye of a glamorous gentleman named mr. surya.  he is very concerned about my intake of cold beverages.  and bloody rightfully so, its hot as !$%^ here.

the view from my room:

hello delhi.

dinner just arrived (boiled veggies and parantha, grilled flatbread?), so im going to muster up my strength and face what i know is coming my way very soon.  for those of you who aren’t picking up my rather cryptic drift, one word: immodium.

13 Responses to “they let me in!”

  1. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) April 11, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Hmmm….I am guessing it’s no Taj Mahal (sorry, couldn’t resist the INDIAN humour). Looks hot. Looks dry. BTW, it’s NOT. Naught is for nothing and is ok but it’s more common form is naughty (as in ‘you naughty girl, you shouldn’t be so far away’) and nought is ZERO, as in nada…
    PS I like being a blogger..it keeps me from getting my real work done. Maybe I will blog my way around the world via the LCBO…let’s start with the fine wines of France (wee wee), and then Australia (cheerio), and then India..oh wait, no wines of India. HECK!! there’s reason number 11 to be anywhere but there. xo

    • Barnet April 12, 2011 at 1:01 am #

      Wrong…it’s naught
      http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_does_But_all_for_naught_mean
      The poor girl has enough problems without being misled by an illiterate!

      • A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) April 12, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

        Right…someone help this person understand the difference between there and their in a previous post. And as mentioned,’naught is for nothing’…which is AOK. Let’s try to keep the insults for the indians….oopsie…

    • Allison April 12, 2011 at 3:36 am #

      i would read your round th world wine blog for sure. it will be a nice counter balance to my increasingly non-glamorous life. do it!!!! xox

  2. Barnet April 12, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    That should put the khat amongst the pig gins.
    Remember to tow the line while you are their.

    • Allison April 12, 2011 at 8:09 am #

      you’re hilarious.

      • Barnet April 12, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

        Some seem to find my sense of humour, sarcasm and irony more of an acquired taste.
        Everyone’s mileage may vary.

      • Allison April 12, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

        NICE! i was just told about this on saturday night and how funny it is. thanks for reminding me to watch it!!!! so gooooood.

  3. ann sitch April 12, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    tales from the raj… glad you got there safely, what was the journey like? is it nothing but heat and flies?

    • Allison April 12, 2011 at 8:06 am #

      journey was great – i actually didnt mind the flight at all and the service was really great. immigration was EASY (knock on wood) and ive been enjoying the comforts of my guest house. i just had a really rowsing battle with 3 mosquitos – i won. its 8:08 am and im already sweating…that should set the scene for you. xoxoxoxo

  4. Hannah April 12, 2011 at 5:33 am #

    You should have practiced for the heat with me in Florida. I miss you, this breaks my heart.

    GIVE ME CONTACT INFORMATION SO I CAN CALL YOU AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE AND BBM HARASS YOU.

    I can’t handle you being gone from my life, Al. I can’t handle it.

    And don’t worry – you’ll get used to trying to sneak into countries/lying your way in. I’ll teach you everything you need to know in March :)

    • Allison April 12, 2011 at 8:07 am #

      i have to say, walking off the plane in gainesville last may was worse than this. your state is WORSE than india. how’s that for ya? ill give you my bbm when i get my phone set up – then we can have phone love all the time. although ive moved 12,000 km away from toronto, ive increased my technological capability so our connection might actually be BETTER from india hahaha.. awesome.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. who do you think you are. « hey it's me, al. - July 22, 2011

    […] i talk too much about things that happened a long time ago, i do things like get married and then move away and i’m in a very committed – and delicious – relationship with […]

Leave a Reply

