it’s kinda like being famous.

10 Apr

i haven’t decided if this post is slightly racist or not yet, but while im mulling that one over, just hang tight.

i only have 30 minutes until we board, and in order to cope with this epic journey with which i am currently faced, i thought i’d share my last few moments on canadian soil.

in case you have already forgotten me (how dare you),  here i am just moments ago waiting in anticipation at terminal 1. mildly displeased? slightly stuffed up? a pinch nauseous? aye aye!

oh hi.

even as i checked into my air india flight, i already noticed that i’m the different one.  im very tall, im very loud and im very…blonde. and, in a sea of non-loud/tall/blonde indians, i can’t help notice i’m standing out.

different-dom is something that as canadians we all say we’re ok with. we’re multicultural! we have healthcare! we like beavers!  but are we really ok with being different? i know im finding it hard, and it’s hour…um…2.

so what i’ve decided is that this next year of being different is going to be like experiencing fame. think about it: im going to get stared at most places i go, people may point and some even may mutter things under their breath. i’m different, i’m fabulous – i’m pretty much famous!

in closing, and frankly what i’d like to think of as a little ‘goodbye gift’ to you all, i will share with you my last beef product for 1 year.

$9.00 airport beef.

adios!

6 Responses to “it’s kinda like being famous.”

  1. Hannah April 11, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    You will probably be in India by the time you read this. Yes, I realize I could have emailed you this massively long post. But, I wanted the world to see this.

    (Also, I realize, this will probably get flagged as spam. Whatever.)

    These two are my favorites from Seven Reasons. org and they both make me think of you.

    1. A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush. Birds are vile, horrid, cruel-eyed, pointy-beaked creatures that flap alarmingly. Why the hell would I want such a thing in my hand? A bird in the hand is a traumatic event. A bird in the hand is worth thousands of pounds in therapy. The proverb does state, correctly, that birds further away from me – in the bush – are of greater value than birds near me, which is true. But what it doesn’t do is stress the greater desirability of no birds in the hand. Or anywhere else. No birds in the hand are more valuable than anything.

    7. Oil and water don’t mix. I’m afraid that BP have successfully disproved that. They have also been successful in eliminating a lot of birds, which helps with proverb one enormously. Well done BP. Solver of Bird Problems. Bloody Priceless. Britain’s Proud.

  2. Julie Goldenberg April 11, 2011 at 5:34 am #

    Good luck Bella and thank you for sharing your experience with us through this blog! Have a fabulous time and keep writing.

    Hugs,
    Julie :) xo

  3. Lidia April 11, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    AL!! Hope you had a good flight without too many paparazzi!!! Thinking of you! xoxo

  4. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) April 11, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Hate to burst your bubble but there may be other blondes in India. Stephanie told me that when she was in Korea people would stop her on the street, tell her how pretty she was and ask to have their picture taken along side. So here is my tip for this week for you – collect money for this!!!! (and post the lovely snaps on your blog for all of us to see). This can be your first truly micro-finance activity while abroad.

    Now on to something equally (not as) important. I would appreciate it if in your spare time (lol) you would go back to edit my previous posts where I stupidly hit the POST COMMENT button without spell-checking my work. You can only imagine how alarming this has become each time I see my word jumbles on the screen, especially when my girls ask me how a well-educated marketing communications professional like myself can make such stupid boo-boos. I guess maybe it’s a good thing that I overpay for proof-reading services.

    xo

  5. A.A.B. (auntie angie baby) April 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Re: the last supper. In INDIA, I am sure you are free to ask the question: WHERE’S THE CURRY? but only as long as you deliver it with the same sparky tone as the now infamous 1984 Wendy’s hamburger commercial.

  6. ica April 11, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    My dearest sister,

    I read this laughing and crying at the same time. I love this blog thing. Keep it up langille!

    As for the arrival email I got not that long ago. I let out a huge breath and continued to tell all the people at work you have ARRIVED ALIVE!! They clearly don’t know you and just say “great” they now thing I’m nuts however, I could care less you are SAFE!

    Can’t wait to see what’s next on this little adventure of yours. Do keep posting pictures love that part !

    Love you tones xoxox

Leave a Reply

