this is hannah’s fault.

7 Apr

the best way to start anything, is by clearly and concisely laying the blame for future failures on anyone but yourself.

so with that in mind, this blog is all hannah’s fault.

hannah – or 1/3 of team goodtimes as many friends and family know her – is my insanely insane yet perfectly perfect floridian friend, who has been an avid blogger for over 4 years.

team goodtimes @ gators game 2006

to put it in context, the girl blogged her way through her year-long wedding planning, and, now married, runs a “life blog” in tandum with her wedding blog. i could barely even think about a year long wedding planning process, let alone blogging about one.  this paragraph is making me tired, moving on.

(btw, you can find hannah’s inspiring blog here, at gator tales.)

so when i told hannah i was moving to india, her initial response was (and i quote) “i’m coming to visit, and now you have to start a blog.” bollox, i said quietly to myself.

but after weeks of thinking about it in the shower, while i watched re-runs of csi, and whilst i carefully applied polish to my toes – i thought that a blog might work. specifically, for the following reasons:

  1. the less update emails i have to send the better: there is nothing worse than getting a 45 page update email from someone living, what seems to be, a much more exotic life than you.  i literally want to punch those people.
  2. pictures are fun: my gut is telling me i will get lots of hilarious, moving, inspiring, and ridiculous pictures during my time in india.  i want to share the best of the best with you.
  3. spreading the word: outside of the fact that india is an amazing professional opportunity, i am going to be doing work that i think is worth sharing.  poverty is something we are all responsible for fixing, both at home and away.

frankly, this is an experiment.  i want to see if you will enjoy my musings and if i will enjoy musing to you.  more than anything, i am curious to see if any of this will help me process the next year as a newlywed living abroad – alone.

and hey – if this blog comes crashing down in a ball of flames – remember – this is hannah’s fault.

@ hannah's gator wedding, may 2010

2 Responses to “this is hannah’s fault.”

  1. Hannah April 8, 2011 at 5:42 am #

    I don’t know where to begin. Actually I do.

    DO NOT LEAVE ME, MKAY?

    Okay, you’re really leaving? Like REALLY leaving?

    Well then, you shall blog about it. ALL. SO I can stalk your life while pretending to work.

    And lets get to this whole “this is hannah’s FAULT” nonesense. You should have said “My beautiful friend, Hannah, 1/3 of Team Goodtimes (shoutout to Li the Italian) is the inspiration behind this beautiful blog where I where share my daily thoughts and crazy photos daily.” Because you will do that. And yes. I am amazing.

    Done.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. pardon the interruption. « hey it's me, al. - May 10, 2011

    […] lidia and hannah a few times now since starting this confounded blog, and since i promised to share my stories of friendship […]

Leave a Reply

